1) Making of a Chover

On the past Shabbos, Parshas Tetzaveh (זכור), R' Chayim Shmueli was made a Chover. After Chazoras Hashatz of Shacharis, Moreinu Harav spoke about the reason Talmidei Chachomim are called Chaverim, and about the idea of giving a title of Chover to people. He mentioned that Rav Shmueli is a Talmid Chochom, our Ba'al Koreh, and extremely devoted to the Kehilloh. Next, KAYJ's choir sung the majestic Boruch Habo of Epstein, and then R' Chayim Shmueli came up to the Rov, and received the Ksav Chaverus from the Rov. This was the first time the title Chover was given in KAYJ, and it was also the first time it was awarded in one of the Machon Moreshes Ashkenaz-affiliated shuls.

2) New web site status

Construction of the new web site is proceeding well.  Besides the Nusach Project, which was there when the new site was launched, the Schedule and the News sections have been completed.  We hope to have the Forum up soon.

The web site of Machon Moreshes Ashkenaz is also undergoing renovations; their new site is located at www.moreshesashkenaz.org and has some interesting, new material.


3) Change of time on Purim day

There has been a change in the time of Shacharis on the day of Purim (Friday), and it will be at 5:20 (Vosikin) instead of 7:00.

The rest of the times stay without any change.


4) Davening on Ta'anis Ester and Purim

We will be very happy to welcome visitors to Jerusalem this week – please join us for Davening on Ta'anis Ester and/or Purim.

On Wednesday (תענית אסתר), Shacharis is at 6:30, Mincho is at 5:00 and Ma'ariv is at 5:58.

On Thursay evening (שושן פורים), Mincho is at 5:27, Arvis and Megilloh reading is at 6:15, and on Friday Shacharis and Megilloh reading is at 5:20. Both at the night and the day the Megilloh reading will be done by R' Sholom Meir Erlanger.

The location is 73 Nof Ramot (Wallenstein). Please call 052-761-1890 for directions, or click here. For the detailed timetable click here.


5) Mazal Tov

Mazal Tov to R' and Mrs. Aryeh Kahn for bringing a wimpel to shul last Shabbos (Tetzaveh).